Xamarin iOS/Android compatibility

Hi all,
is xamarin ios/android supported in some way?

Many Thanks!

Hi @Luca_Fattorini,

take what I am saying here with a grain of salt, since I am not a Xamarin developer, but I do think you have two options.

You can link the native library, but as far as I know that is only supported for Objective-C and Java so you couldn’t use the Swift library in that regard. Also I am not sure how that is working if you are building apps for iOS and Android from the same codebase.

The other options is to use a C# library (forum1, forum2). I think it would be best to ask there if you need help with the C# libraries.

Hi @brototyp,
many thanks for the suggestion. Bind the official SDK probably is the actual best solution (but I don’t really like bind third party libraries for obvious reasons).
Do you know if on roadmap there are some action for implement an “official porting” or an “official binding” from Matomo?

In past, for other projects, I already “binded” libraries for analythics (loss of time and maintenance problems) and, in Xamarin development context, have an official porting should be preferential reason to choose a different product.

What do you think about?

Hi @Luca_Fattorini, yes I am totally on your side here. As far as I know there is no official C# version or Xamarin binding. I think an official binding would be the preferred way, so we can leverage the advances in the bound version. Do you think that is something you could help us with?

Do you think that is something you could help us with?

Probably yes, I will start as soon as possible the binding of iOS SDK.
On my side, obviously, it would be a pleasure sharing the project!

Many thanks for the support, I’ll keep you aligned!

Hi @brototyp, I am trying to bind the swift library but it is not pretty easy and for sure not the coolest to mantain. I seen there is an older version written in objc (Version 3?).