"Requires an 'view' access for the website id = 1"

Hello,

I’m new to Piwik (love it!) and programming in general. I have a Piwik widget embedded in a private page. In Google Chrome, when I log in to the private page (via the CMS’s login system, not Piwik), I can view the widget. Then I log out and I try the process again in Safari, except the page gives me this error instead of showing the widget:

“You can’t access this resource as it requires an ‘view’ access for the website id = 1”

The widget is the Visits Overview w/ Graph. I’ve created a User for this Website and added that User’s token_auth to the end of the embedded URL. Perhaps I am supposed to adjust the token_auth a certain way when adding it to the end of the URL? In the end of the URL, I add it immediately next to where it says “widget=1,” for greater clarity, alongside the “1”…

I’m sure there is something simple on my end that I am forgetting. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Much appreciated,
sd

1 Like

What is the full widget code you are using (remove your domain and change the token_auth before posting)

Thank you for your interest Matt. I solved the problem. I was not adding " &token_auth= " before the actual token_auth number. Maybe I missed that step in the documentation or it is just presumed understood by all web developers… I’m new to programming in general so I didn’t know.

Thanks again. Take care.

SD

Thanks for the feedback, I updated page at: Embedding Piwik Reports in Other Websites or Apps - Analytics Platform - Matomo

"Then, copy the ‘token_auth’ of this user from the Manage Users page, and paste it at the end of the widget URL in the Widget embed HTML code: &token_auth=your_token_auth_here "

hopefully it is easier to understand?

I’m using the Python Reporting API Client which is available here.

from piwikapi.analytics import PiwikAnalytics

pa = PiwikAnalytics()
pa.set_api_url('http://10.***.***.***:10443/piwik/index.php?')
pa.set_id_site(3)
pa.set_method('ImageGraph.get')