No localization of cities, only countries, with GeoIP (php) properly installed

Dear forum,
I’m new at Piwik and installed it on a small website. Everything worked well except that I don’t get city data - though GeoIP (php) is properly installed visitors are only related to their country. I activated Anonymization with two bytes of the IP masked and use the anonymized IP also for reporting - as suggested for Germany.
I tried and looked for informations for hours but found no solution. Also I deinstalled everything and re-installed in newly - same problem.
Can anybody help me? Piwik version is 2.8.3.
Thank You very much for every kind of help!

Same problem for me, the only difference is that I haven’t activated user anonymization.

Yes, I can confirm what Rhodungeon says: When I deactivate Anonymization the problem is still there - though I tried all ideas I could find like deleting piwik_archive_* and executing geoIPUpdateRows…

Did you configure Geo location? Geo Locate your visitors - Analytics Platform - Matomo

Hallo Matt,
thanks for dealing with my problem!
Yes, I configured it - I send You a snapshot how it looks [attachment 2022 Snapshot1_Forum.png] -
and on this page my address is resolved and I can see a city localization - it only doesn’t work with my website users on the dashboard (see [attachment 2023 Snapshot2_Forum.png]).
Do You have an idea what might be wrong? As I already mentioned, Anonymization with 2 bytes is active.

Thank You very much for any help…
Greetings from Bavaria (not exactly Raisting, but in about 40 km distance from it…)
WebAgBro

can you try something? in Settings > Privacy > can you try to set " Also use the Anonymized IP addresses when enriching visits. " to NO

Then is the geo location working?

But how can you explain the same behaviour in my case? Without Anonymization it should work

I attach a screenshot of my Geolocation settings