Like to Use Matomo, but Stats Don't Add Up

I’ve been playing with Matomo off-and-on for about 2 months now, and though it’s REALLY interesting and looks comprehensive - the stats don’t seem to add up, and I can’t figure out why.

I cannot ask my boss to pay several thousand dollars for Matomo consulting if I can’t show him that we’ll get a return on our money.

The fact is, that Matomo’s numbers are between 10% and 20% of Google’s Analytics, and an even lower percentage of CloudFlare’s. I can stand 5-10% difference, but 80%-90% is just too much.

My assumption is that some browsers are simply not sending actions. My server is HTTPS, and I use CloudFlare’s always-HTTPS feature. That uses a CloudFlare certificate.

Do I need to put in a certificate matching subdomain.domain? Is there a way to tell if a browser won’t send a call?

Any help on this would be appreciated. If I can’t resolve this, I have to use something else, or ( god forbid ) roll my own. I’d REALLY like to use Matomo if possible.

Thanks.

Hi,

This is something that gets asked often and there are ton’s of reasons for this.

The comparison to CloudFlare makes sense as they are counting something quite different (assuming you use js tracking). While they count the http requests, you count the people who execute Javascript and are not in Matomo’s Bot user agent list.

But there are stil reasons why there can be too little visits counted (see also here)

• the user was using an adblocker that blocked Matomo
  • the user has disabled JS or blocked all third party scripts
  • the user has enabled DoNotTrack and therefore their visit isn’t tracked by Matomo by default
    • this is the most likely source for a difference as GA ignores DoNotTrack
  • the user has used the OptOut iFrame to OptOut of tracking and is therefore not tracked.
  • There is an error with your webserver causing some requests to be dropped (e.g. by using mod_security)