Importing data from Piwik 1.11.1 to Matomo 3.3.0

Hi,

I have an old Piwik 1.11.1 installed and being actively used by ~80 websites - although it contains old data on ~1,000 websites.
I would like to import all this data to a new machine with a clean installation of Matomo 3.3.3, while taking into consideration the fact that these ~80 sites are online and that I prefer minimal downtime and data loss.
I have the sites using the PHP tracking code (the Piwik URL is not exposed on the client side).

What are the steps I’ll need to take in order to import the data from the old Piwik installation to the new Matomo installation, and migrating the tracking codes on the relevant sites?

Thanks a lot!

Hi,

I have no experience with Piwik <2 and large instances, so take this with a grain of salt:
I’d make a copy of the current instance and work on that one, so if something goes wrong it doesn’t affect your instance.
Then I wouldn’t make you update but at least make “stopovers” at 1.12, 2.x and 2.17 before going to 3.3.

So I guess I’ll have to live with some data loss, for the time between the “stopovers” until I’ll update all the websites to send the traffic to the new domain. Hmmm bummer but OK.

When you write “2.x” as one of the “stopovers” - can you refer me to a specific one? I just want to have my steps ready, instead of just guessing.

Where can I download older versions to make these “stopovers”?

https://builds.piwik.org/ has all Piwik releases since 0.1.1.

Maybe do it once to try out if it works and then again with the latest data (and hopefully no interruptions)

I haven’t used Piwik before 2.10 so I just wrote that in case there was an problem in updating from 1.12 straight to the last (2.17)

Maybe someone from @innocraft has more experience with such complex updates?

I know that we got feedback from various people reporting that an update from 1.x to 3.x worked.