Illegal mix of collations?

Hi!

I’m totally new to this software, but I’m an experienced user of software/computers etc. I think the installation procedure was very easy. And it all seemed to work fine, when I’ve logged in. But when I tested (put your js-code on a website and visited that website), and then logged in to the control panel I got this message in ALL gadgets:
“Illegal mix of collationsSQLSTATE[HY000]: General error: 1271 Illegal mix of collations for operation ‘concat’”

This seems to be an issue with some general SQL-statement in your code. (But first after one visit has been made)

I’ve tested with diffrent languages but it doesn’t seem to matter. (I get the error-code anyway). I’ve attached a screenshot, so you might be able to understand the problem easier.

I also get this error when I click on menu "websites"
Notice: Undefined index: debugTrackVisitsInsidePiwikUI in C:\www\stats\piwik\tmp\templates_c%%1D^1D5^1D598A14%%piwik_tag.tpl.php on line 3

Please tell me if I can help your further…

The dashboard error is fixed in SVN.

The “illegal mix of collations” sounds like your MySQL doesn’t default to UTF8.

Try this patch:

Index: core/Piwik.php
===================================================================
--- core/Piwik.php    (revision 1344)
+++ core/Piwik.php    (working copy)
@@ -1236,6 +1236,7 @@
             $db = Zend_Db::factory($config->database->adapter, $dbInfos);
             $db->getConnection();
             // see http://framework.zend.com/issues/browse/ZF-1398
+            $db->getConnection()->setAttribute(PDO::MYSQL_ATTR_INIT_COMMAND, "SET NAMES 'utf8'");
             $db->getConnection()->setAttribute(PDO::ATTR_EMULATE_PREPARES, true);
             $db->getConnection()->setAttribute(PDO::MYSQL_ATTR_USE_BUFFERED_QUERY, true);        
             Zend_Db_Table::setDefaultAdapter($db);

[quote=vipsoft @ Jul 31 2009, 02:22 PM]The dashboard error is fixed in SVN.