Help with warning messages in new server

Hi people, I’m new at this world of Matomo, and I wish you could help me with some messages that I can’t mark as green
In my admin area in the check system (sorry, I figure out what the English text is, because I set the language in Spanish) I get

• Required Private Directories (My server uses apache, and the .htaccess files seems to be ok, I also tried this solution, but didn’t work, so I don’t know what else to do)
  • Setup Cron (faster report loading) (I followed the tutorial in this link but now this message remains and just got the new one below)
  • Browser and Auto-archiving enabled
  • Database capabilities (when I hover the cursor, the pop up shows “UTF8mb4 charset”, I have no idea what’s wrong with that or how to fix it)

More details about my server are:
Matomo: 4.3.1
MySQL: 8.0.25-0ubuntu0.21.04.1
PHP: 7.4.16

Thank you in advance for any help

Hi,

Some Matomo files should not be public to everyone on the internet. Because of this Matomo generates .htaccess files so your webserver denies access. You can check if the files are protected by accessing the URLs in the browser.
If the protection doesn’t work, then you might have set up Apache to not respect .htaccess files. I don’t know Apache at all, but I think the solution has to do with AllowOverride All (Required Private Directories - #12 by kdmail001).

Have you checked if the cronjob actually runs successfully. Maybe run the command once and look at the output (or check the file where you redirect the output to /home/example/matomo-archive.log)

Once you have fixed the above and the cronjob generates the reports correctly, you can disable browser-archiving so that Matomo doesn’t generate reports when you access them, but only displays the ones generated by the last cronjob run.
This can speed up Matomo by a lot

I assume you used Matomo before Matomo 4 and upgraded later.