Flowplayer + Piwik

Hi All,

First of all, I am a newbie, and have just started playing with Javascript. I am looking at integrating piwik with flowplayer.

My desire:
Be able to track when visitors start/stop videos, the time of the video and then what they did afterwards. I can then use this for A/B testing … which videos are better at getting people to convert, and at what points within the video do they defect.

What I’ve done:

Customized Flowplayer, added 2 piwik goals (video start and video stop) with the “Goal can be updated more than once per visit”.

Question:

I am now thinking of adding a custom variable (video time) which is updated anytime the video is started or stopped, and then using piwikTracker.trackGoal(1 for start, 2 for stop) to get the time into the database, which I could then query.

However, I can’t figure out how to set the custom variables. I tried both of the below:

On each start/stop:
1)

try {
	var piwikTracker = Piwik.getTracker(pkBaseURL + "piwik.php", 1);
	piwikTracker.setCustomVariable(1, "tm", this.getTime(), "page" );
	piwikTracker.trackGoal(2);
	piwikTracker.trackPageView();
	piwikTracker.enableLinkTracking();
} catch( err ) {}

Or

piwikTracker.setCustomVariable(1, "tm", this.getTime(), "page" );
piwikTracker.trackGoal(2);

What is the right way? Any advice?

Thank you!
David

P.S. I will provide a description of my methods once I get this working.

I think the problem here is, that ‘this’ refers to the piwikTracker object which has no getTime() function. In your flowplayer script you should assign the time value to a (global) variable and use that instead. Like:

[...]
timePlayed = myFlowplayer.getTime(); // assuming that your flowplayer object is named 'myFlowplayer'
[...]
piwikTracker.setCustomVariable(1, "tm", timePlayed, "page" );
[...]

Use Firefox with the Firebug Console for debugging.

We now have a Media Analytics plugin that tracks Videos & Audio!