Does Matomo Play Nicely With Domain Forwarding To A Subdomain With WordPress Sites?

Hi guys -

I’m wanting to see if anyone’s successfully done something I’m thinking about doing…but first a little background:

I’ve been using Matomo on my business website for several years, which was created with (gulp) Apple’s iWeb '09. It’s currently a very simple site with only a few pages. Piwik has worked okay for the most part, but I’m really needing to update it to WordPress, as I have a much larger and more complex site update in mind, and the WP plugin delivers much more and better info than I get now.

My web hosting plan allows me to create an unlimited number of subdomains and databases, and I’ve successfully created and tested Piwik with several different WordPress installations on their own unique subdomains (i.e. testsite1.mydomain.com, testsite2.mydomain.com, testsite3.mydomain.com, etc), so I’m familiar with how to set all that up.

Now that I’m very close to a final version, I was wondering about something that might make my life easier or harder…how - or if - Matomo might work with domain forwarding to a subdomain (example: pointing www.mydomain.com to testsite3.mydomain.com).

I actually did a brief experiment with this a few months ago, and the results weren’t good.