I currently schedule automatic deletion of old reports (>12 months). Still I ran into database size problems (almost reaching 1 GB, access is now denied, have to restore somehow). If I understand correctly, I can delete either logs or reports, but should not delete both if I want to be able to restore continuous reporting of the basic development.
- Would it make more sense regarding the database size to keep the logs and delete the reports? Which method usually leads to better results? (I run a few sites with a few hundred visitors per day, rather small I would say.)
- Is it possible to change the method from deleting reports to deleting logs (if that brings better savings) without losing essential data? I don’t mind losing data about parameters, if I keep the development of visitors and page views.