Can I track (as a goal) when a video is watched?

Rookie question I’m sure but I know (just enough) to get into trouble!

Like to setup a tracking goal to show how many times a video is viewed from a webpage. Can someone walk me through an example - I’m not a scared ( :wink: ) code it if I have to.

Thanks in advance…

Hi there,

For this you must first be able to track Events from your video player. Event Tracking - Analytics Platform - Matomo

Then you can create a goal where the goal is to receive an event with a particular Action or Name or Category which matches the event you’ve sent from your player. Track Goals and Measure Conversions - Analytics Platform - Matomo

Maybe someone else will be able to assist you further :slight_smile:

Hallo,

I have the same problem. As I am not a programmer i did not succeed to track events from my videoplayer.
This is how I start the video. The analytics i have been using until today is still there.

What do I have to put in there? And what do I have to put elsewhere?

Thanks in advance

Derek

I’m wondering the same, both for video and audio, specifically on WordPress…I certainly do see pages viewed, but I equally need to know is what content is played. To me, these media plays and the time/order they’re clicked in, are just as important as full page view data.

I’m tried using and tweaking the documentation tracking code in both the official Piwik WP plugin (which is useless, because for some odd reason you can tweak all sorts of other things, but can’t actually edit it to insert the tracking code), along with a third party version (which will).

Still, in both cases, no media events are tracked at all, whether using the stock HTML5 audio/video players WP now provides (JQuery-based), or the other HTML5 or Java-based third-party plugins offered there.