Will Opt-Out delete persistent cookies?

Hi!

I’m struggling with Piwik’s Opt-Out feature and the cookies it is placing. I was under the impression that when piwik_ignore is set, tracking stops so _pk_id… and _pk_ses… become useless and are deleted. Is this correct?
Because it is not what I observe. Not only are the two tracking cookies not deleted - they are actually recreated when I delete them manually and refresh the page even though the ignore-cookie exists.

Since I’m new to Piwik I assume, I’m doing something wrong. My guess is, it has to do with the domains. The tracked site is hosted under blog.example.org, and Piwik under piwik.example.org. Accordingly the tracking cookies are placed under the former, the ignmore cokkie unde the latter subdomain. If this is the problem, how can I fix it?

Thanks in advance and Kudos for creating such an awesome tool! :slight_smile:
Nicolai

If you have the piwik_ignore cookie, the request will still be sent over to Piwik, but it will be ignored.

(because the Piwik ignore cookie is a third party cookie. It can only be read by the piwik server)

Piwik also creates first party cookies in the javascript tracker, the cookie list is: What are the cookies created by Piwik JavaScript Tracking client? - Analytics Platform - Matomo
These cookies are still created when the piwik_ignore cookie is there, but they won’t be used.

If you want to disable all cookies, see: How do I disable all cookies for a visitor? - Analytics Platform - Matomo - See also: When cookies are disabled by a visitor, how does it impact Piwik reports accuracy? - Analytics Platform - Matomo

Hi Matt,

I’m not too internet-savy so I’ll try to repeat what you said in my own words to make sure I understood.