Storing external reports in Piwik

Hi all,

I read about the possibility to display external data in Piwik reports - this is already great, but I’m wondering if anyone has tried to store these external data reports in the Piwik database?
It seems not so nice to have to connect to the other database every time I want to see the report… The report data I want to display is less dynamic than page visits, something really only worth storing once a day (e.g. total number of registered users on the website, or total content items) - that’s why I don’t want to push it via the tracking script.

I hope this doesn’t sound too silly, I’m new to Piwik, but I’d be grateful if you could share your thoughts - does this sound crazy, or is it worth working on? Are there perhaps some API methods that could be easily adapted for this?

Thanks,
Anna

Can you explain in more detail what you are trying to achieve?

This use case is typical of what we want to achieve with Piwik 2.0 so your input is appreciated.

Hi matt,
Thanks for replying! Good to hear that this idea is not just the product of my crazy brain! :slight_smile: Here is my situation and what I would like to achieve:

I have got:

• a Drupal site for which statistics need to be gathered and displayed in nice charts to users (Piwik module is integrated)
  • a Piwik installation on the same server (but eventually could be on another)

I need:

• site tracking stats, basically the default Piwik tracking statistics
  • user data stats (e.g. how many registered users there are on the site in total, how that number has evolved over days/months, etc.)

This question is about this second type of stats.