Problem? - Archive Data/Stats Display Issues

I’m new to piwik, but I got it up running and working in good order except for one major problem.

Let me try to summarize my steps:

1. Installed piwik correctly on my server.

2. Installed site tracking code correctly on the footer of my site tracking multiple pages.

3. Checked - stats tracking. Db looks OK (piwik_log_action tracking)

4. Set up cron job to to automatically archive the reports.
    Here is the following command i used in cpanel:
    0 * * * * /bin/sh /home/usr/site/piwik/misc/cron/archive.sh
    Note: In piwik ‘general settings’ default values used (Allow Piwik archiving to trigger when reports are viewed from the browser = YES; Reports for today will be processed at most every = 10sec)
    Additional Note: I alternatively later disabled auto-triggering since i had the cron job running and put the processing to every 1/2hr), neither setting though would appear to influence the issue experienced.

5. Cron job reports sent hourly to my site email, here’s an excerpt from the email body for yearly archiving:

Archiving period = year for idsite = 1…

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?> Archiving for idsite = 1 done! Reports archiving finished. Starting Scheduled tasks...

No data availableFinished Scheduled tasks.

*** In Piwik, there was yearly and weekly archive data available all day today. The cron job is running hourly. Yearly/Weekly Data has been available and showing throughout, also outputted to website OK for several hours.

NUTSHELL: Then all of the data including for ‘today’ gone. Within the hour, ‘today’ data back, archive data/api output gone. Over the course of the last two hours, still no archive data being generated or live visitors, for today = 0.

I heavily suspect that if I go on tomorrow morning, there will be archive data, which will be collected starting fresh, which will then disappear and be deleted later in the day again.

PROBLEM/DETAILS: