Piwik/Matomo Backend doesn't load on fresh install, lots of random JavaScript errors

Hello,
I tried several times installing Matomo on my VPS, but the backend doesn’t load, there are always jQuery errors “$ is not defined” appears at least 3 times, and others (missing “}”, missing “:”, whatever) appear randomly. I am using Nginx but I am a newbie on this webserver. Can you help please ? It probably has to do with some fastcgi permissions or PHP fpm sockets but I don’t get how it has to be done.

The URL is https://www.stats.[mysite].net and here is the block in my sites-available conf file:

location ~ .php$ {
try_files $uri =404;
fastcgi_split_path_info ^(.+.php)(/.+)$;
fastcgi_pass unix:/var/run/php7.0-fpm-[mysite].sock;
fastcgi_index index.php;
fastcgi_param SCRIPT_FILENAME $document_root$fastcgi_script_name;
include fastcgi_params;
}

Thanks in advance

Hi,

Before trying something complicated with the server config, let’s check if it isn’t something simpler:

Are you using any adblocker? They often block all JS files on domains including piwik, so disabling it on your Matomo backend may help.
If it doesn’t help, you can check the network tab of the browsers developer tools and check why the JS file didn’t load.

Thanks for the quick answer ! I had my website already whitelisted on uBlock origin. Also tried with uBlock uninstalled but no differences.

There are no JS files which “don’t load”, no 404’s in Network panel, only parse errors in Console panel.
The first JS error I see in console is:

“SyntaxError: missing } after function body” - index.php:14:50693
note: { opened at line 14, column 50596 - index.php:14:50596

and when I open this index.php in source mode it is a JS file with following URL:
https:// stats.[mysite].net/index.php?module=Proxy&action=getCoreJs&cb=[some big chain]

Line 1 of this file is: /* Matomo Javascript - cb=[the same big chain]*/
and line 14 is some minified version of jQuery UI.