Killer feature? HTML5 desktop notifications

Hello. I am new to Piwik, and would like to say that I am already very impressed with it. It is more than enough, provides me with such detailed info about visitors and their actions, way better than Googles. However, from my point of view the killer feature of a real-time web analytics I believe it is a real-time notification system. Ergo in several (and inhumanely expensive) web-based analytics when a visitor is doing a certain action, like viewing a page, a short pop-up appears on the desktop, via Google Chromes built-in html5 notifications system, or in case of other browsers via html notifications plugins. Is that hard to do? A plugin maybe, not in the core? I would gladly trade half the detailed info about my visitors for this killer feature which really brings the real-time component to life :slight_smile: Am I the only one?

Hi Glisse,
amazing, I had the exact same idea a few days ago. While I don’t have any time this month I might be implementing this in October as a plugin.

Cheers
Fabian

that would be truly awesome :slight_smile:

Bump… i still believe that a real-time notification system would be THE most awesome feature of Piwik… I have provided Fabian Becker with extensive specifications for sucha plugin based upon what i remember from other analytics platforms which have this desktop notifications system, but i believe he is too busy… can maybe someone create a ticket for this plugin, as a suggestion?

can you please put the info you sent to Fabian in a new ticket at : dev.piwik.org with your suggestions on how we could approach it?

Hello Matt,

I do not have access to dev area, but i`ll put here the info and you do with them as you wish.