Adwords campaign rejected. For Google Matomo javascript is a Malware

All my Adwords were also suddenly rejected this month. After several emails trying to establish with Google what the exact issue was they came back with an answer that the analytics must be “inline to the domain”. Now I have installed Matomo as a sub-domain to each domain I want to track, the Adwords adverts are now approved. Just edit slightly and it goes to the “under review” status.
Very inconvenient to not have all websites under one Matomo install but how can you argue with the Google behemoth!

Cheers,
Adrian.

Hi @AApollo,

Thanks for the info. Would it be possible to forward the E-Mail discussion with support to hello@ matomo.org ?

@AApollo
could you please forward us your email conversation with Google Ads so we can also use it for our internal push to Google Ads team? That will be very helpful!

Also to help you btw, you may still be able to setup Matomo on the subdomain as a proxy to your main Matomo instance tracking all your sites, learn more here

Any update on this? One of my clients is also experiencing this issue. Fortunately he’s the only one using Google Ads, so nobody else is impacted, but it’s concerning that Google would take such an aggressive approach against an open source project.

To make our case more clear at Google Ads, they want us to provide the following information about the issues:

  • URL of your website where you had the issue
  • Google Ads Campaign ID
  • Google Ads customer ID
  • Support case ID

-> Would you please be able to send us this or some of this info? send us at hello@matomo.org

Thanks,

I’m also affected. Will send details in the next 48hrs.

Any idea of a timeline here Matthieu as I would like to re-engage Google ads asap and the only way to do that may be to remove Matomo which would prevent the Google ads team seeing/investigating this.

As I’ve not heard back by email or through the forum I’ve now removed Matomo and replaced with GTM until this gets resolved as I need to push on with the campaign. I hope you managed to work this out with Google or make any changes to avoid the false trigger.

We are still struggling to make progress with Google.
But there is a Google employee trying to reach the right people inside Google ads team… it’s a mission to get answers.
To make our case more clear at Google Ads, you can help us by providing the following information about the issues:

  • URL of your website where you had the issue
  • Google Ads Campaign ID
  • Google Ads customer ID
  • Support case ID
    -> Would you please be able to send us this info?

I’m sorry to hear it’s a struggle, however I’m not surprised.

I’ve provided the account details and a response from Google that specifically shows that Matomo is the cause, both by email previously, however I did not receive an acknowledgement.

We’ve forwarded your details (and others) to our contact at Google who’s trying to escalate it to the right team/person at Google/Google Ads in charge of this detection. It’s taking a long time, Google is too big. If we don’t make progress this way, we’ll have to change tactics eventually. Stay tuned…

Any progress Matthieu?

We are still in talk with Google with the existing cases.
Everyone who haven’t yet reached out to us please do now: contact us by providing the following information about the issues:

  • URL of your website where you had the issue
  • Google Ads Campaign ID
  • Google Ads customer ID
  • Support case ID
    -> Would you please be able to send us this info?

It seems that maybe the issue is now less frequent than before, but to be confirmed.

For anyone who have contacted us and have got a reply from us, we will eventually follow up and still work on getting this resolved with someone at google trying to help us (VERY Difficult to reach out the right people :expressionless: )

All my Adwords were also abruptly rejected this month. Following multiple emails trying to determine with Google what the exact problem was they came back with an response that the analytics must be “inline to the domain ”. Now I have built Matomo as a sub-domain to each domain I want to control, the Adwords adverts are now allowed. Only edit slightly and it goes to the “under review ” place.
Very inconvenient to not have all websites under one Matomo install but how can you argue with the Google behemoth!

I’ve had a site that was rejected by Google back in March 2020, and now again this week. The message both times was:

Policy violation detected – Malvertising in landing page.
Because of the sensitive nature of policy violations, Google is unable to provide additional information related to the alert beyond what’s available in the Ad Manager UI.

I developed the site, but a radio conglomerate and another party are doing all the advertising, so I don’t have access to the AdWords account. Since I don’t have access to that, and since I’m not getting answers from the media companies, I don’t yet know that Matomo is the issue.

Since my sites run the bare minimum of 3rd party (jquery, bootstrapcdn, matomo, and google fonts/analytics), it seems likely they’re flagging Matomo. Hopefully I’ll get an answer at some point.

I’ve verified that my matomo.js is pristine.

I wish I could say I’m surprised that Google would flag a privacy-centric, open source competitor as malvertising.

After several months the problem is always the same. This should be reported to the Commissioner for Competition of the European Commission.

1 Like

I can confirm that Google was in fact tagging our client’s site as containing malvertising due to using Matomo. They have now confirmed that that was the issue, and they have lifted the ban on advertising, but I’m guessing it’ll happen again. And I wouldn’t be surprised if we suffer similar consequences in other important areas, like SERP.

Thanks for your work on this and other issues, Matthieu.

Hi Ramesh,
can you please reach out to hello@matomo.org with the following info:

URL of your website where you had the issue
Google Ads Campaign ID
Google Ads customer ID
Support case ID

Also please note you can still have all your website under one Matomo, by using the Matomo tracker proxy script, please see this FAQ for the info: https://matomo.org/faq/how-to/faq_132/ <- this will be a better solution for you!

Looking forward to receiving your details by email (this helps us as we’re building a case and already have 6 confirmed reports - need yours too!)

@mkindred can you please reach out to hello@matomo.org with the following info:

URL of your website where you had the issue
Google Ads Campaign ID
Google Ads customer ID
Support case ID

we need everyone with the issue to contact us with these details so we can get a resolution. Thanks!

Update: we have heard back from Google Maldvertising team and they have said they have “fixed some issues” on their end, and it seems the issue is FIXED.

if you still experience this issue from August 2020, please leave a reply here!

1 Like