A way to avoid MySQL problems

I just installed Piwik and am glad to head toward losing the chains of Google. It never felt right using it.

I’m not a programmer so please bear with me.

I have a dedicated managed server running CentOS. After installing Piwik it alerted me that my PHP version was not up to date (I believe I had 5.13 installed). I alerted the techs and they updated PHP to 5.4 as suggested and also updated Apache to the latest stable release since it was out of date. While not requested by Piwik, it seemed best to have the latest release.

At that point I got an error that MySQL would not accept the information for the database with the following error:

Error while trying to connect to the database server: SQLSTATE[HY000] [2000]
mysqlnd cannot connect to MySQL 4.1+ using the old insecure authentication.
Please use an administration tool to reset your password with the command SET
PASSWORD = PASSWORD('your_existing_password'). This will store a new,
and more secure, hash value in mysql.user. If this user is used in other
scripts executed by PHP 5.2 or earlier you might need to remove the
old-passwords flag from your my.cnf file

I also should note that wordpress installs also could no longer accept passwords but IPB (proprietary system I am looking to replace) had no trouble with logins on a different domain on the same server. I don’t think this is a bug, it may be a security feature or the lack of a feature which is why I’m here. Piwik installer does however still show my PHP version being 5.13RC.